Enter your keyword

Certificate IV in TESOL

Certificate IV in TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages)

Qualification Code: 10695NAT
CRICOS Code: 097625J
Duration: 52 weeks
Study Type: 20 hours per week

Qualification Structure:

This course is organised into 10 units of competency, made up of 9 core units and 1 elective unit.

TESCIE001 Create a culturally inclusive learning environment CORE
TESGAE001 Use the genre approach to teach English CORE
TESTEG001 Teach English grammar CORE
TESTSP001 Teach spelling and pronunciation CORE
TESTSE001 Teach speaking CORE
TESTLE001 Teach listening CORE
TESTRE001 Teach reading CORE
TESTWE001 Teach writing CORE
TESDRF001 Develop resource files CORE
TESPSL001 Teach ESL to primary school-aged learners ELECTIVE
TESECL001 Teach ESL to early childhood learners ELECTIVE
TESTAL001 Teach ESL to teenage learners ELECTIVE
TESMAD001 Use music, art and drama in TESOL ELECTIVE
TESTEC001 Use technology to assist ESL learning ELECTIVE
TESWWV001 Work with volunteers in ESL contexts ELECTIVE
TESCBC001 Establish community based English classes ELECTIVE

Course Description

The purpose of the Certificate IV in TESOL is that applicants will be trained to become teachers of English. This course is designed to enable students to develop practical skills and knowledge that are essential in today’s challenging world of ESL/CALD. Students will acquire the skills to:

  • Prepare ESL/CALD lessons.
  • Deliver ESL/CALD lessons using a variety of approaches and strategies
  • Define the structure of the English language
  • Create learning resources.

Entry Requirements

In order to gain entry into this course, the potential student must:

  • Be 18 years of age or over
  • Have satisfactorily completed Year 11 in an Australian High School (or equivalent), and
  • Have an IELTS band score of 5.5 or TOEFL 500 (or equivalent)

Learning Pathways

After achieving the 10695NAT Certificate IV in TESOL, students may continue to study 10688NAT Diploma of TESOL (with a direct credit for 9 core units)

Recognition of Prior Learning & Recognition of Current Competency

Have you studied this topic before? We will recognise competencies gained through previous learning, work and life experiences.

Students can apply for Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL)/ Recognition of Current Competency (RCC) before they commence the course or a particular unit. Students will need to provide evidence that they are already competent in this/these specific unit/s. Email info@win.edu.au for further information.